The Medal of Honor was first established by Congress and signed into existence by President Abraham Lincoln during the Civil War in July, 1862.

Since then, more than 3,400 have been awarded to U.S. service members who distinguished themselves conspicuously by gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of life above and beyond the call of duty.

(U.S. Marine Corps video by Lance Cpl. Davis Harris)